Oh, the Toll House Cookie

 

IMG_2316

Why is it that of all the cookies I’ve made, my boys love the recipe on the back of the bag of Toll House Semi-sweet Morsels the best?

There is nothing wrong with Toll House Cookies. Quite frankly, the extra salt makes the dough pretty tasty. The recipe is very reliable and easily adapts to substitutions on the add-ins.

Interestingly, the Toll House Cookie was an experiment by Ruth Wakefield, who decided in 1938 to chop up a bit of chocolate bar and add it to a butter drop cookie after she discovered she was out of baker’s chocolate. The Massachusetts innkeeper had a hit on her hands. The cookie grew in popularity after a Boston newspaper reprinted the recipe. In 1939, the folks at Nestle got her permission to promote her recipe on chocolate bar packaging and then on bags of chocolate chips. What did Wakefield get in exchange? A lifetime supply of Nestle chocolate and $1.

I love reading cookbooks and baking blogs and trying new things. I just don’t want to eat batches of goodies all by myself. I love baking dozens upon dozens to give away for Christmas, too. From the feedback I’ve gotten from friends, family and colleagues, they think the cookies are delicious. But, for some reason, my family just isn’t as thrilled. They want the tried and true.

I have attempted to sway them with all varieties of cookies, but somehow that simple recipe is the one they look forward to. Well, that one and Peanut Butter Blossoms, which are one of the few cookies I don’t like and the only variety that doesn’t last a day in our house.

Sure, they like frosted sugar cookies and my youngest gets excited for spiced molasses, a specialty for the holidays, but if I had a dollar for every batch of cookies that languished in its Rubbermaid container …

Even more unbelievably, my husband prefers cookies that have been around awhile. I will only eat them within the first two days or so.  And to top it off, he actually prefers cookies without a lot of chocolate or stuff in them.

IMG_2319

So instead of trying a new recipe today, I got out the trusty Toll House chocolate chips and flipped the bag over. I usually make them as bars (after enjoying a good scoop or two or three of dough) and underbake by a couple minutes. Sometimes I will substitute a different kind of chip or M&M’s. But what kind do the boys prefer? The original.

Author: mybookmarkedlife

I love words, reading (especially historical fiction, thrillers and magazines), eating great food, traveling, music and golden retrievers.

Leave a Reply

