In my next life (or maybe today)

 

europe2

In my next life, or maybe sooner, I’d love to follow the example of Jen on a Jet Plane. Jen Ruiz is a full-time lawyer in Florida who makes it a priority to travel the world, usually at discounted prices and usually alone. True, she doesn’t have a family to tie her down (Doesn’t that sound negative? It’s not. The responsibilities involved with a family make it the truth!) and she’s young so it probably seems like she has all the time in the world.

On her website, she says not to wait around for the right time, the right partner, the right price. This is a philosophy I need to adopt: To live life in the moment. Always waiting for the right time has led me to put off what I’d love to be doing.

The truth is the clock’s ticking and none of us knows how much more time we have left. Waiting for retirement is not a sure bet. Jen on a Jet Plane budgets, hunts down deals and isn’t afraid to venture off alone. I need to be more forthright and persistent in doing what I want to do. If travel is important to me, I should make time for it. It’s as simple as that.

This isn’t original. Thomas Jefferson wisely said centuries ago: Never put off till tomorrow what you can do today.

One of the best experiences of my life was traveling to Europe as a college student in 1991. Shout-out to one of the best traveling partners around, Shefali!

europe1

If I were to go now, I would pack better (for heaven’s sake, check out what I used as a backpack!), eat more adventurously and take copious (and better) photos. I would explore more. I would immerse myself in the people and the cultures and pay attention to the details. For example, I went to the Colosseum in Rome, but I didn’t take a tour or learn much about it. Traveling as a student, I was always short on funds and we were trying to pack in as many sites as we could.

In most areas of my life, I need to see the possibilities, not the obstacles. If not now, when. After all, as Charles Dickens said: “Procrastination is the thief of time” and we only get so much of it.

europe3

 

 

Author: mybookmarkedlife

I love words, reading (especially historical fiction, thrillers and magazines), eating great food, traveling, music and golden retrievers.

1 thought on “In my next life (or maybe today)”

  1. Very well said, my dear. Life is precious and those trips are the memories we cherish later. We all need to heed your advice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

